jump to navigation

Career Move February 20, 2011

Posted by wholmes in Career.
trackback

No, I am not leaving VMware. Quite honestly, there is no technology company I can think of that I rather work for than VMware. As stated by my esteemed colleague Massimo, I find it very motivating to work for a company that is shaping the future of IT.

So what is this career move? After joining VMware a little over a year ago as a Senior Consultant in the Professional Services organization, I am transitioning into a new role, officially titled Technical Solutions Architect-Partner Cloud. This new role will allow much closer interaction with VMware product engineering, product management, and the cloud practice team. I will also be working closely with our friends over at Cisco. My main responsibility will be to work closely with the Cisco service provider business unit and VMware cloud practice teams in designing and validating cloud solution architectures. I will be responsible for working with both VMware and Cisco product management and engineering organizations to provide guidance, development and integration support for joint solution engagements.

This transition is very exciting to me, and a milestone in my career for many reasons. For the first 14 years of my career I have been a member of a services organization in one form or another. I started with IBM Global Services, where I spent 8+ years, then transitioned to a couple smaller consulting firms, and then to VMware Professional Services. So this will be the first time in my career that I will no longer be a billable consultant. While I loved working in VMware’s awesome NYC PSO group, it is exciting to be able to focus on developing new solutions that will impact the future of IT.

In reflecting on my IT career so far, I always feel grateful that I am actually in the career, and have a position that I always dreamed of having as a kid (yes, I suppose I was a nerdy kid). As a kid in the 80’s, I used to read Computer Shopper magazine (remember those huge 300+ page mags), wishing to buy an x86 computer. I could not afford one at the time, but I could spec out an 8086, 80286 or 80386 system like nobody’s business :-). When I finally did build my own PC, I immediately knew IT was the place for me. I dreamed of being in some type of IT architect position, building solutions and solving problems with the amazing capabilities provided by rapidly advancing technology. So yes, I feel very grateful because how many people can actually say they have the job they dreamed of having as a kid?

So were you a nerdy kid like me, and feel you would like to join the VMware team? Is your virtualization kung-fu strong? Want to join a winning team with really smart, motivated people? VMware is hiring for a number of positions worldwide. (if you are in the NY tri-state area, there may be an open PSO Consultant role available 😉 Checkout http://www.vmware.com/company/jobs/
If you have an questions, feel free to contact me on twitter, @wholmes.

Comments»

1. Steve Jin - February 20, 2011

Congratulations Wade! Wish you all the good luck in your new role! I am glad you are not leaving VMware.

2. Scott Lowe - February 20, 2011

Congratulations, Wade! It sounds like a great opportunity and I’m sure you will excel in this role as you have in previous roles. Best of luck to you!

3. Mark Achtemichuk - February 21, 2011

Wade you’ve earned it. Congrats and good luck. They’re very lucky to have you.

4. Massimo Re Ferre' - February 21, 2011

Wade, thanks for the mention (and even more for the “esteemed”).

Good luck with your new job… I think it’s a cool role!

Massimo.

5. Kevin C - February 21, 2011

Congratulations! No more time entry!

Good Luck in the new position.

6. T Kraus - February 22, 2011

Congratulations. It sounds like you are going to enjoy the new position. Lets stay in touch.

7. JM Lucien - February 22, 2011

Congrats Wade, don’t forget us little people.

8. Iben Rodriguez - February 25, 2011

Congrats!

9. Brad Hedlund - February 25, 2011

Awesome new role Wade! Maybe our paths will cross sometime soon. Congrats!!

Cheers,
Brad
(Cisco)

10. Rob D (EMC) - February 25, 2011

Congrats Wade! Best of luck to you.


Leave a Reply

